Indian National Finals Rodeo—Native American Professional Rodeo

This post may contain affiliate links or Google Ads and we may earn a small commission when you click on the links at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Affiliate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This is at no additional cost to you and helps with our website expenses.

We’ve recently gotten more information about the Indian National Finals Rodeo (INFR) and want to pass it on to our readers. Kari Zubach, of the INFR, was kind enough to contact us to provide more of an insight to this annual rodeo event.

This is the 36th annual Indian Finals. The South Point Arena and Equestrian Center is host to the professional rodeo from November 8th through the 12th of this year.

Native American Indian Cowboys and Cowgirls

The Native American Indian cowboys and cowgirls represent over 100 different tribal Nations in Canada and the United States. These are best professionals you’ll find representing their respective families, communities, tribes, and states.

A total of 286 contestants will compete in eight events. They will be bareback riding, bull riding, saddle bronco riding, ladies break away roping, tie down roping, barrel racing, team roping, and steer wrestling.

Junior and Senior Rodeo Events

INFR LogoThis is the 2nd annual rodeo for the Juniors and Seniors and will showcase Native American cowgirls and boys.  The Junior and Senior events will include junior barrel racing, junior steer riding, junior breakaway roping, senior breakaway roping, and team roping.

Joe Beaver and Don Gay—Commentators

Joe Beaver, the eight time PRCA World Champion Cowboy came on board last year as the INFR Commentator and would personally like to encourage everyone to come on out to the finals. Don Gay, eight-time PRCA World Champion Bullrider is thrilled to be coming on board as a Commentator this year.

INFR Hall of Fame Induction

There is an extremely exciting event taking place this year at INFR. The INFR Hall of Fame is being launched. Saturday, November 12th will be the induction and ceremony. This will be during the INFR Championship Round.

Inductees will include the commissioners of the Indian National Finals Rodeo and the original founders:

  • Fred Gladstone
  • Bob Arrington
  • Dean Jackson
  • Mel Sampson
  • Pete Frederics
  • Jay Harwood

The new INFR World Championship Cowboys and Cowgirls will be crowned along with the 2011 INFR Tour Rodeo Champions and the 2011 Horse of the Year.
The INFR Junior and Senior Rodeo will start November 8th with 1:00pm and 6:00pm performances. The Indian National Finals Rodeo begins on November 9th till the 12th with those performances at 1:00pm and 7:00pm.

Elizabeth Crane

Elizabeth Crane grew up not wearing a helmet, drinking from the hose and not wearing a seat belt. She managed to survive and now spends her time developing websites, drinking coffee, and eating chocolate.